running essentials.

i like running. a lot.  i like running even more when it’s not tax season and i can actually go on runs.  outside.  in the sunlight.  not on a treadmill at 10:00 at night.

anyways, here are a few of my running must-haves!

lululemon tank and shorts:  expensive.  (ridiculously overpriced, actually) but kinda worth it.  their run: speed short is my absolute favorite, but each pair is $54.

shoes: i’ve been trying out different running shoe brands and haven’t found one i love.  i overpronate so i need stability shoes and i’ve tried a few different asics and mizunos.  still on a mission to find my fave.

garmin 405: THE watch that this girl made famous.  less bulky than the 305.  really good for anal people like me who like to know their exact pace/distance/etc. every 43 seconds.

headband: i have a sweet cowlic and awesome flyaways so headbands are a must for me.

nike sport bras: love their dri-fit ones.  and i normally find mine at nordstrom rack or ross for $12.

nike compression shorts & tank:  sometimes in the super hot summers here in hawaii, i like to wear spandex and a looser top when i run.  baggy shorts + ultra sweat = not a good combo.

clif shot bloks: awesome for long runs and good flavor options.  or whenever you feel like a gummy bear but are trying to be “healthy.”

iPod suffle: get the older 2G.  it’s not a touch screen so i like that a lot (sweaty hands/touch screen not a good mix) and it’s perfect for clipping to your shorts or tank.

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to running essentials.

  1. Sarah T. says:

    I want to go on a run with you!!!

  2. I am in the market for a new Garmin. I have a little one that runs on a foot pod to find your distance, not by GPS. So its not as accurate and I always have to calabrate. I’m not sure which one I want though, short of the latest and greatest thats like 400 dollars!

    Try Brooks for your running shoes. They are the largest/most popular running shoe provider right now. I went through some Asics and Nike’s before turning to Brooks. I’m an over pronator too and would over step the sole giving me blisters. I found LOVE in the Brooks Dyad. Try em out!

  3. Wendy says:

    Great list! Thanks!

  4. girlsthatrun says:

    I run in Brooks Adrenaline GTS shoes and I LOVE them. I’m a huge overpronater and had a lot of knee and ankle issues before I went and got fitted for running shoes. Bonus is that they have a lot of cute color options.

  5. jennyv says:

    I just pinned this… excellent collage of essentials!

  6. Amy Potter says:

    LOVE it! I might have to do a similar collection of all my running faves! Run Speed shorts are totally worth every penny. Feel so good to run in! I’m currently running in Asics Kayano’s long distance and have some Brooks Pures for racing. I pronate too, and this has been a great combo for me! I’m also with ya on the old shuffle thang for sure! ;) we’d be great running buddies haha!

  7. Great essentials. I love my iPod shuffle and clip it to my visor. Congrats on the fancy web domain and wedding planning – so much fun. You are lucky there is such thing as Pinterest, didn’t have that 12 years ago….

    Fabulous photographer I used for baby newborn shots and she does beautiful wedding work… http://Www.amandamckinnon.com

  8. Michelle says:

    Awesome list!

    I need to get my hands on a pair of those Lululemon shorts. I’ve been eying them for a while, so I just need to bite the bullet and buy them.

  9. Audrey says:

    Love all of it!

  10. SkinnyRunner says:

    ive heard only good things about the lulu shorts but i just cant bring myself to spend that much on them… unless they make your butt look like supermodel-amazing. if so, ring ’em up!

Leave a Reply

