lessons i’ve learned in hawaii.

since living in hawaii for the past 2 years and 3 months, i have learned quite a few things.  who knew that southern california and this little island could be so different?

1) hitchhiking is a totally acceptable form of transportation.  i guess it’s a small island and people figure somebody has to be going the direction they need to get to.  i still think it’s really weird.
sidnote: on our drive to the north shore this past sunday for church, reis pulls over to pick up hitchhikers!!!  all i can think is “oh-my-gosh-strangers-are-getting-into-the-vehicle-what-the-heck-is-my-boyfriend-doing” at this point.  turns out the people were headed up to our church too, so it was all good.  and the superrr random part??  one of the guys was from my hometown.  went to my high school.  and lived like 2 blocks away from me.  SMALL WORLD.
.
2) everything is so so so much more expensive. everything.
starbucks, gas, yogurtland, houses, milk, food…the list goes on and on.  i suppose living in paradise is worth it…  
.
3) having geckos INSIDE your home is the norm.
EWWW. no no no.  i am NOT okay with this.  i freak out when i see a pea-sized spider, let alone this lizardy, scaly creatures.  i have no problem smashing insects (especially nasty cockroaches!) but geckos have too much “meat” to kill them without feeling like you committed murder.  reis loves geckos and lets them crawl on his arm.  this grosses me out entirely.
.
4) i am 5′ 4″ and i feel like amazon woman.  
it seems that everyone who lives here are total shortys!  and i am a 4 inch heel kinda girl.  meaning, i TOWER over my coworkers and my clients.  awkward giant, yes that’s me.
i’ll keep ya posted on anything else i learn.  so in case you ever visit, ya can’t say i didn’t warn you.
This entry was posted in hawaii, hawaii vs. socal. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to lessons i’ve learned in hawaii.

  1. Pam says:

    Yes, everything is so expensive in Hawaii but, soo worth it! My husband and I visited a grocery store because I was curious on prices. Pretty much everything was double sometimes triple the costs we’re used to paying here in Cali. But, I guess it depends on where you shop too!

    The locals in Maui are very laid back. Favorite phrase…”No Worries!” :) We had a wonderful time and look forward to visiting again! I’d love to take the “road to Hana.” Sounds so beautiful!

    I hate geckos too!! We had soo many of them in Okinawa AND flying cucarachos!

  2. Anna @ IHOD says:

    Hi Jaymee:)
    Just catching up on your lovely space.
    I am 5’5” so maybe I should move to Hawaii so I can feel tall for the first time in my life! lol.
    I think I could handle the geckos for the trade off of living in paradise!
    Hope you are having a great week!
    <3
    Anna

  3. You make me smile!! I love your blog! Hope to see you more since we live close to each other ;) love love love you!

    ~Lydia

  4. Scottee says:

    CAN’T WAIT TO VISIT!!! WE CAN BE GIANTS TOGETHER. BAHAHA. …since in SB I’m basically a smurf.

Leave a Reply

