Palos Verdes Half Marathon

This past weekend was jam-packed and I enjoyed every second of it!  I am living up my time in California since I go back home to Hawaii tomorrow.

On Saturday morning, my cousin Scottee and I ran the Palos Verdes Half Marathon.  We spent Friday night at her sister’s/my cousin’s apartment and fueled for the race with some late night snacks:

I love running with my cuz.  She kinda rocks.

My parents couldn’t make it, but we still had my Mimi and Daddad, my Aunt Pam, Uncle Dennis, and cousin Shannon to cheer us on!  Actually, they kinda sorta missed our crossing the finish line on accident, so they re-enacted how they would have cheered for us.  My aunt is awesome…she brings a cowbell to our races.The weather was AMAZING and perfect for running a race at around 60* and overcast.  The course was a beautiful out-and-back and we got to run through ridiculously nice neighborhoods with insanely huge houses overlooking the ocean.  Considering we both didn’t really train for this race, we were not ready for the never-seeming-to-end-rolling hills.  Scottee killed the hills and soared up them but they made my legs way more tired than I was expecting.  (I’m also just being a baby and still bitter I was far, far from a PR :)…but I guess you should probably train to get one of those).  We finished around 1:57 but still had SO MUCH FUN!  We chatted the majority of the time…or more like she talked and I would answer when I wasn’t dying from a hill.  Since I don’t get to see my fam that much, Scottee and I always try to schedule a race together when I come to CA!  It’s quite a party when our whole family gets together – I love it!  We saw the super speedy Pam around mile 10 when she was flying past us during her mile 12!  Overall, I had an awesome time with Scottee and it was a great race (with tons of FREE swag at the finish line!).  LOVE YA SCOOT!

After waiting in an hour long shuttle line to get back to the parking lot, we went to Tammie’s Corner House Cafe in Hermosa Beach for some lunch.  It was the cutest little place and had really good food (and ginormous Blueberry Oatmeal muffins which I literally inhaled).

I love my family so much and I am so glad I got to see them so much when I was here on the mainland!

This entry was posted in family, my life, restaurants, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Palos Verdes Half Marathon

  1. Aw, family is the best. And so are close to the same age cousins!!

  2. Lauren says:

    Ice cream, wine, and goldfish?! Now those are some good pre-race snacks :) Your family is so cute!

  3. Kimberlee says:

    so sad i couldn’t be there! the “our cheerleaders” pic cracks me up!!

  4. Pam says:

    You and your cousin look like sisters!! :) fishy crackers are a staple in our pantry!!

    You two looked like you were having too much fun!! I wasn’t prepared for all of those rolling hills!! You’re so right about the beauty of the course! Hopefully, you’ll be back next year…I will!! :)

    Have a safe flight home!!

  5. Congrats on your race!! Looks like a really fun time!

  6. Scottee says:

    “are you two twins?”

    “yes.”

    “[disappointed face] no. we’re actually not, but we ARE cousins.”

    …love running with you cuz, and am flattered people think I look like you.

  7. Pingback: i’m running a half marathon tomorrow. | jayAdores

Leave a Reply

